Monday, July 5, 2010

Prince of Persia and Japanese Movie Theaters

Sorry this is a little out of order. This happened the week before the Ramen Museum.

I went to go see Prince of Persia! It was really fun being the only person in the theater that didn't have to read the subtitles, which were totally stylized to have a slight persian/arabic curly script look. I looked down from time to time to try reading it because I noticed some things that couldn't really be translated into Japanese. haha.

So, Japanese movie theaters in comparison to American movie theaters. They're slightly smaller, and this one didn't have ridiculous sound like most American ones. You know the ones that vibrate the ground? Yeah, none of those. At least at this one.

Anywho, went with my friend Mariko, who works at my favorite school. The theater we went to was about a ten minute walk from the Yokohama train station, which was a really nice walk. The theater was above an arcade, where we wasted money trying to win stuff from the UFO Catchers while we waited for the show. I really wanted to win a doll, but those damn claws are SO WEAK! >_<

Oh, and another thing about the movie? Almost the entire theater stayed for the full credits. I knew there wasn't going to be anything after the credits (Prince of Persia isn't the type to have the set up at the end of the credits, not like the comic inspired movies), so I was all for leaving right then. Well, my friend wasn't moving. Honestly? I highly doubted any of the Japanese in that theater could read all the credits, especially as quickly as a native speaker could. So... why were they waiting? I figured I shouldn't be rude, so I just sat tight and twiddled my thumbs while I waited.

After the movie, we caught a boat, aptly named the Sea Bass, though when you write it in katakana it could quite as easily be read "Sea Bus", which is essentially what it is. lol. It was great seeing Yokohama from the water. Not only that, but the breeze felt great. We got off at Sakuragicho to find an African Festival of some kind. There were a bunch of black people walking around and it was totally not what I was expecting. It was really cool! Especially when you see these really cute black kids (it was really hard to tell if they were full or perhaps half) who were speaking 100% fluent Japanese. I mean, better Japanese than I can speak because it's got to be one of their first languages. Goodness.

Afterward, it was off to the Pokemon Center again. haha.

+++

Also, saw Iron Man 2 this past Friday with Tanyisha. It was a great movie and it was totally worth seeing in the theater because this theater, which was in Ebina (completely opposite direction from Yokohama), had GREAT sound. Like, really loud. Not to the point where I worry about my ear drums being damaged, but still totally awesome and totally appropriate for the movie. Tanyisha owed me money, so she bought me the Pokemon Set for Popcorn. I got a little container as well as a Zoroa/Zoroark screen wipey thingy for your cell phone. I haven't put it on yet. XD

Also went to Uni Qlo while we waited for the movie to start. I got a cute dress and five tops. I totally got compliments on one of the tops today at school too, which was awesome. :3

No comments:

Post a Comment