I bought a rice cooker! It's lime green and the buttons have English on it even though the cooker only has instructions in Japanese. lol. Time to pull out my dictionary. D:
I know what you're all thinking: How have you been making rice the six months you've been in Japan?! I've heard of at least two of my Chinese friends saying that their family makes rice in a pot, so I thought: Hey, why not? There was a little recipe on how to make rice in a pot in the manga cookbook I bought while I was still in America. I used those instruction in Japan.
But you know what's really awesome about my first time using this rice cooker? I'm going to make sushi for my largest school! And guess what?! That's sushi for 50 PEOPLE!!! *dies* But talk about really working up some brownie points with them, as well as showing how much I appreciate all the help they give me when I'm teaching. The plan is to make sushi for all my schools, but I might do this as a one week, one week sort of deal. I mean, that's a lot of sushi. That's a lot of rice. And that's also a lot of "crap! what am I going to put in it?!".
And just now, a little festival float went right by my house drawn by a bunch of young kids. And another float came up, and they're both stopping right in fronto f my apartment. Damn, I love Japan. XD
ANYWAY. I'm still looking for some good cheap stuff for me to put in my sushi. I've been using http://justbento.com/ and http://www.justhungry.com/ - They're both really helpful. So far, I've got the idea to finely chop carrots, cucumbers and make tamagoyaki (for the first time, I might add). I'm going to the market to get some tupperware, those opaque sheets mommy never liked using because it was more expensive (the name of which eludes me), and maybe some meat to go into the sushi. I'm thinking ham: something that can be cooked and thinly sliced that isn't too expensive.
The playlist for this operation? Doctor Who. I'm going to rewatch/listen to Doctor Who episodes while working on all the sushi. Hopefully I won't die from the heat because my air conditioner hates me.
Wish me luck!
Saturday, September 4, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment